Candidates declared for Thurrock local elections

  Posted: 08.04.21 at 22:03 by The Editor

us on Facebook

  See our new Community section

THERE will be several new faces taking seats in Thurrock Council’s chamber after the local government elections next month, with some familiar faces stepping down after years of service and a plethora of new candidates stepping onto the hustings.

Among those departing local government in Thurrock are Labour veteran Gerard Rice, and longstanding Conservative councillors Susanne Hooper and Garry Hague, while other high profile figures like Labour’s Oliver Gerrish and the Tories’ Aaron Watkins are also stepping down.

Just nine out of 16 wards where elections take place see sitting councillors who are retiring after their four year term of office bidding for re-election, with several of those standing under a different banner to that which they were elected.

And another councillor who changed his political allegiance while in office, the Tories’ Luke Spillman is switching wards and hoping to secure a seat in the political hotbed that is Ockendon, which has seen some of the closest political battles in recent borough history.

The election will take place on Thursday, 6 May when the council has assured voters that polling stations will be safe places to visit.

However, if you wish to vote by post you will need to apply before 5pm on Tuesday, 20 April or if you wish someone to place a proxy vote, that must be done by 5pm, Tuesday 27 April. Details via this link.

The list of candidates for the 17 wards where elections take place is below.

Aveley & Uplands
Srikanth Goud Panjala (Labour)
Maureen Pearce (Conservative)
Retiring councillor Luke Spillman (Conservative)

Graham Lloyd Hamilton (Thurock Independents)
Amin Hoque (Labour)
Georgette Polley (Conservative)
Retiring councillor Angela Lawrence (Conservative)

Chadwell St Mary
Adam Carter (Conservative)
Russell Peter Cherry (Thurrock Independents)
Carl Anthony Graham Morris (Labour)
Retiring councillor Gerard Rice (Labour)

Chafford & North Stifford
James Thandi (Conservative)
Mofeda Parvin Tuhin (Labour)
Retiring councillor Garry Hague (Conservative)

Corringham & Fobbing
John Cecil (Labour)
Graham Snell (Conservative)
Retiring councillor Aaron Watkins (Conservative)

East Tilbury
Jacqueline Dobson (Labour)
Susan Sammons (Conservative)
Neil Speight (Independent)
Retiring councillor Susan Sammons (Conservative)

Grays Riverside
Tobi Adewa-Faboro (Conservative)
Daniel David Fallows (The Green Party)
Tony Fish (Labour)
Retiring councillor Tony Fish (Labour)

Grays Thurrock
Sophie Corcoran (Conservative)
John George Kent (Labour)
Retiring councillor John Kent (Labour)

Little Thurrock Blackshots
Joycelyn Redsell (Conservative)
Magun Singh (The Green Party)
Oliver Mark Smith (Thurock Independents)
Marc John Francis Sugrue (Labour)
Retiring councillor Joy Redsell (Conservative)

Ruth Elizabeth Clapham (Labour)
Maurice Kelley (Thurrock Independents)
Luke Spillman (Conservative)
Retiring councillor David Potter (Conservative)

Stephen John Andrews (Independent)
Sue Little (Conservative)
Gary Watson (Labour)
Retiring councillor Sue Little (Conservative)

South Chafford
Clifford John Holloway (Labour)
Augustine Ononaji (Conservative)
Retiring councillor Susanne Hooper (Conservative)

Stanford East & Corringham Town
Jack Duffin (Conservative)
Valarie Morris-Cook (Labour)
Gbenga Olajugbagbe (Thurock Independents)
Retiring councillor Jack Duffin (Conservative)

Stanford-le-Hope West
Dean Peter Braun (Reform UK)
Ross James Byrne (Thurrock Independents)
Terry Piccolo (Conservative)
Leslie James Strange (Labour)
Retiring councillor Terry Piccolo (Conservative)

The Homesteads
Gary A Collins (Conservative)
John Robert Fox (Thurrock Independents)
Mark Wayne Hurrell (Labour)
Bill Poskitt (Reform UK)
Retiring councillor Gary Collins (Conservative)

Tilbury St Chads
John Arthur Allen (Independent)
Joseph Kaley (Conservative)
Kairen Raper (Labour)
Retiring councillor John Allen (Independent)

West Thurrock & South Stifford
Brian Seeger (Conservative)
Lee Watson (Labour)
Retiring councillor Oliver Gerrish (Labour)

There are no elections in Little Thurrock Rectory, Stifford Clays and Tilbury Riverside and Thurrock Park.

Like this article? Sign up to our weekly newsletter...
WITH no signs of a breakthrough in negotiations and a strike of environment services workers at Thurrock Council due to start next week the authority ...